Cheeseburger Pie (Low-Calorie)

photo 5

I will be the first to admit – I do not like ground turkey or cottage cheese. I’ve tried several “skinny” recipes incorporating these ingredients with no luck. I am not one to give up on trying and FINALLY I found one that was a winner for my family’s taste – including mine! It’s so good, I had to share it with you – and on my continued search for low-cal recipes that are truly delicious – I am creating a new category on my blog to make these recipes easy to find and try. I will continue to test new more healthy recipes, as I could lose a few pounds. But trust me on this, I won’t sacrifice taste for less calories!

YOU’LL NEED:

1 lb lean ground turkey
3/4 cup onion, chopped
2 Tbsp garlic, minced
1 package reduced-fat crescent rolls
2.5 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 cup low-fat cottage cheese
1 egg
1/4 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup reduced-fat, shredded cheddar cheese
4-8 slices of tomato

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Brown ground turkey, garlic and onion in a large pan on medium heat.

photo 1 (2)

Drain any grease from the pan. Mix Worcestershire sauce into the meat. Turn heat to low.

photo 2 (2)

Spray a 9.5 inch pan with cooking spray. Take the crescent rolls and place them in the pan like a puzzle, covering the sides and bottom of the pan. Pinch any spaces between the crescent rolls together (ps – I’m a working mom and I don’t care if it’s perfect – it’s about taste not look!)

photo 2

Place the pan with the dough in the oven and bake for 8 minutes. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, mix cottage and eggs.

photo 3

When the 8 minutes are up, take the pie pan out of the oven. Spoon the meat mixture into the pan. Top with the cottage cheese/egg mixture. Top that with the shredded cheddar cheese. Then place the tomato slices on top.

photo 4

Bake for an additional 27-30 minutes (double check it and make sure the crust isn’t getting too burnt – mine got pretty crispy after 27 minutes). Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

photo 5

Yummm – so good AND healthy.

Calories 262 (per serving – makes 6 servings)
Calories from Fat 125
Total fat: 13.9g
Dietary fiber: 0.6g

Recipe adapted from: http://www.skinnymom.com

Leave a comment